WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

14 Additional Counties Added To Diaster List

Last updated on Monday, June 16, 2008

(UNDATED) - President Bush has declared added another 14 Indiana counties to the disaster declaration. That makes 22 in all, now, eligible for federal disaster assistance.

FEMA Director David Paulison delivered the news in person, meeting in Martinsville with Governor Mitch Daniels--who found some cause for encouragement as he tracked the storm moving east across the middle of the state today.

Daniels says he is very impressed with state emergency responders. Paulison echoed those sentiments.

Paulison says FEMA is trying to do a quick turnaround on applications for emergency grants. Individuals can apply for grants of more than $28,000 dollars. Around 2,000 people in Martinsville have already applied for those grants.

A number of people are taking advantage of Daniels' one-stop shops for state and federal aid. Three of those offices opened Friday morning and another will open it's doors in Franklin today.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page