News Sections
14 Additional Counties Added To Diaster List
Updated May 5, 2013 1:00 AM | Filed under: Network Indiana
 Print    Archive    RSS

(UNDATED) - President Bush has declared added another 14 Indiana counties to the disaster declaration. That makes 22 in all, now, eligible for federal disaster assistance.

FEMA Director David Paulison delivered the news in person, meeting in Martinsville with Governor Mitch Daniels--who found some cause for encouragement as he tracked the storm moving east across the middle of the state today.

Daniels says he is very impressed with state emergency responders. Paulison echoed those sentiments.

Paulison says FEMA is trying to do a quick turnaround on applications for emergency grants. Individuals can apply for grants of more than $28,000 dollars. Around 2,000 people in Martinsville have already applied for those grants.

A number of people are taking advantage of Daniels' one-stop shops for state and federal aid. Three of those offices opened Friday morning and another will open it's doors in Franklin today.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2019 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File