WBIW.com News - local

Brought to you by WBIW News and Network Indiana

With Deadline Looming Friday, Number Of Local Races Uncontested

Last updated on Monday, February 18, 2008

(UNDATED) - This Friday at noon Indy time is the deadline for anyone wanting to file for candidacy in this year’s May primary races, and there are a number of unfilled contests in area state legislative races.

As of close of business Friday, the only area State Senate race contested is in Bedford's own District 44 between Republican incumbent Brent Steele and Democratic challenger Tony "Big Dog" Van Pelt.

In the northwestern 39th district, Democrat John Waterman is unchallenged, as is Democrat Vi Simpson in the 40th District covering Bloomington AND 48th District Democrat Lindell Hume who covers area from Jasper through Martin County. However, both Waterman and Hume have yet to file paperwork with the Secretary of State themselves, either.

For the State House, Orleans Democratic incumbent Sandra Blanton is being challenged by Republican Jamie J. Harris in the 62nd District which used to be Jerry Denbo's, and Democrat Dennie Oxley's southeast 73rd District seat is contended for by Republican Steve Davisson.

60th District Democrat Peggy Welch covering Bloomington and 65th District Republican Eric Koch covering Bedford are both uncontested, yet Welch also has paperwork of her own to file.

For Congressional races, the 4th District looks already put together for November as Democrat Nels Ackerson looks to unseat Republican Steve Buyer.

The only area legislative candidate facing a real primary challenge is 9th District Democratic Congressman Baron Hill, squaring off against 3 contenders this May, the winner having to take on former Republican Congressman Mike Sodrel in November.

Hill squares off against Bloomington's Gretchen Clearwater, Crawfordsville's John Bottorff, and Versailles' Lendall Terry.

1340 AM WBIW welcomes comments and suggestions by calling 812.277.1340 during normal business hours or by email at comments@wbiw.com

© Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Click here to go back to previous page