News Sections
Lawrence Co. Election Makes History
Updated May 5, 2013 12:58 AM | Filed under: WBIW News
 Print    Archive    RSS

(BEDFORD) - Primary Election Day in Lawrence County is now in the books and history was made.

The first ever woman mayoral candidate for Bedford was chosen with Republican Jean Williams receiving the most votes, barely squeaking by incumbent current mayor Joe Klumpp. The margin was less than 30 votes.

Democrat "Big Al" Alan Craig won the nomination for the Democratic Party. Other winners included Julie Blackwell-Chase-Brinegar in the Bedford Clerk Treasurer's race against incumbent Donna Brumbaugh by about a 100 vote spread.

For Mitchell mayor, Danny Terrell won the Republican nod with incumbent Morris "Butch" Chastain getting the Democratic win. For City Council District 4 in Bedford, Cyle Beekman got the win over Chris Mullis. For Mitchell City Council District 1, Rosemary Brewer won over Kenny Allen the incumbent.

Other contested races around the area show that in Martin County Democrat Donald Bowling won with a wide margin for Loogootee mayor. In Greene County, Democrat Tommy Jones won for the mayoral race. He along with unopposed Republican Kelly Foglesong will run in November.

The Loogootee City Clerk-Treasurer win went to Democrat Nancy McAtee-Jones.

The slate is set now for the November General Election to be held on Tuesday, November 6th.

« Previous Article
Next Article »

 Print    Archive    RSS

Have a question or comment about a news story? Send it to

Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW
Find more about Weather in Bedford, IN
Advertise with 1340 AM WBIW

1340 AM WBIW, Bedford's Place To Talk. Serving Lawrence and surrounding counties since 1948!

© 2018 Ad-Venture Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved. and Listen Live Powered by HPC

Advertise  |  Careers  |  Contests  |  About  |  Feedback  |  Public File