Bedford Recreation Foundation presents check to Boys & Girls Club of Lawrence County

BEDFORD – On November 23, 2021, Tom Elliott President and board member of The Bedford Recreation Foundation (BRF) along with current BRF board members presented Frank Decker who is Chief Professional Officer of the Boys & Girls Club of Lawrence County a check for a donation in the amount of $2,000.

Tom Elliott, Bedford Recreation Foundation Board President, and Joey Elliott, Tournament Director said – ” We are very pleased and proud to be able to continue to support one of our county’s most valuable assets – ‘The Boys and Girls Club of Lawrence County’ through the money received at The Annual Claude Akins Memorial Golf Tournament. Without the continuing support year in and year out from our Sponsors, Players, and Volunteers this would not be possible. This is one of the many ways that we as a Board for the BRF can maintain our continuing efforts to give back not only to this valuable organization But, to many other worthwhile and deserving entities, organizations, and projects within our community to make it a better place for all that are here or that may visit “

This donation is a continuing commitment from the BRF to support the local club annually and is a portion of the proceeds collected from the “Try 4 Dye” Contest held on Hole #17 during The Annual 2021 Claude Akins Memorial Golf Classic, held each year during the Labor Day weekend at Otis Park Golf Course.

“Our Board of Directors, Staff and members are very appreciative of the support the Bedford Recreation Foundation, Inc. has shown to the club over past several years,” said Frank Decker. “This year’s donation will be directly put toward purchasing infield tarps and equipment for our baseball program at Wiley Park.”

Pictured (left to right): Jesse McKee (BRF Board Member), Tom Elliott (BRF Board President), Frank Decker (B & G Club CPO), Joey Elliott (BRF Tournament Director), and Jimmy Jones (BRF Board Member & City Park Director). BRF Board Members not pictured are Holly Davis, Noah Browning, and Misty Adams