Communities in Senate District 44 receive nearly $4.2 million in road-funding grants

STATEHOUSE — Communities in Senate District 44 will receive nearly $4.2 million to improve roads and bridges through the Community Crossings Matching Grant Program (CCMG), said State Sen. Eric Koch (R-Bedford).


The CCMG, established by the Indiana General Assembly in 2016, aims to advance community infrastructure projects, strengthen local transportation networks and improve Indiana’s roads and bridges. Since it was put into place, the program has awarded more than $1 billion in state matching funds for local construction projects.

In Senate District 44, the following communities received grants:

  • Bartholomew County received $137,210;
  • Brown County received $1 million;
  • Columbus received $519,100;
  • Lawrence County received $675,423.75;
  • Monroe County received $597,025.77;
  • Nashville received $287,782.50; and
  • Seymour received $943,792.73.

“Reliable, modern, and efficient infrastructure is an important part of a strong economy, sustaining businesses and connecting employees to their jobs,” Koch said. “The Community Crossings Grant Program provides a wonderful opportunity for Hoosier communities to not only improve existing roads and bridges but to also begin new and innovative projects.”

Through the program, the Indiana Department of Transportation matches up to $1 million annually when localities invest in road and bridge repairs. Counties with populations fewer than 50,000 and cities and towns with populations fewer than 10,000 receive a 75%/25% match, while counties with populations greater than 50,000 and cities and towns with populations of greater than 10,000 receive a 50%/50% match.

The CCMG offers two rounds of applications each year, with the next call for applications occurring in early 2022.

To view the full list of communities receiving matching funds in 2021, click here.

Sen. Koch, chairman of the Senate Utilities Committee, serves Senate District 44, which includes all of the parts of Bartholomew, Brown, Jackson, Lawrence, and Monroe counties.