Commission on the Status of Children and Youth seeking nominations for 2021 SWAGGER Awards

BLOOMINGTON – The City of Bloomington Commission on the Status of Children and Youth is seeking nominations for the 2021 SWAGGER (Students Who Act Generously, Grow, and Earn Respect) Awards.

These awards recognize and celebrate personal growth, generosity, and the development of respect.  Successful nominees are students who show commitment to certain causes or display actions that have improved their lives and/or the lives of others around them.  Educators, clergy, friends, neighbors, relatives, and others are encouraged to nominate a student who lives or attends school within the Monroe County Community School Corporation district.  

Nominations for the 2021 SWAGGER Awards are being accepted through Monday, November 15 for children and youth in the four following age categories: K-3, 4-6, 7-8, and 9-12. Nomination forms are available online or in-person in the City Hall atrium (401 N. Morton, Suite 260), where visitors may request the services of the Community and Family Resources Department, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.  Nominators will have an option to attach a short video to their submission form that will be included during a virtual award ceremony on Friday, November 19, available at the CSCY Facebook page

“The SWAGGER Awards are one way the City recognizes and encourages our young people to live their values,” said Mayor John Hamilton.  “Please consider the young people you know–at school, in your neighborhood, or your faith community, for example–who are making a difference in others’ lives.  These are Bloomington’s future leaders.” 

The mission of the City of Bloomington Commission on the Status of Children and Youth is to promote connections in the community that empower, enhance, and nurture children and youth. For questions or additional information about the SWAGGER Awards or the Commission on the Status of Children and Youth, please contact Shatoyia Moss, City of Bloomington Safe and Civil City Director at or by phone at 812-349-3559.