Pioneers clip Stars in Edgewood finale

Steven Graham won at No.1 singles during BNL’s win over Owen Valley in the Edgewood Invitational.

ELLETTSVILLE – Mooresville swept the singles to edge Bedford North Lawrence 3-2 in the championship match of the Edgewood Invitational on Saturday.

The Pioneers, who reached the final with a 5-0 victory over Edgewood in the morning round, pulled out a three-set thriller at No.2 singles to claim the title.

BNL (5-7) won doubles as Cameron Gratzer and Jayden Kemp rallied for a 4-6, 6-0, 6-1 victory over Bailey Kelso and Ian Mosley at No.1. Caleb Jones and Nate Pemberton had no trouble with Trae Creech and Braeden Daggy, cruising to a 6-2, 6-1 win at No.2.

Mooresville’s Lennon Zollman recorded the deciding team point, fighting off Graham Turner 6-2, 4-6, 6-2 at No.2 singles.

”This was a really good day of competitive tennis for us from start to finish,” BNL coach Chris Kurtz said. “I’ve seen a lot of growth from these guys throughout the season, both in skill and mindset, but it’s still a work in progress.

“We haven’t had everyone play winning tennis at the same time yet, and I feel like there were some missed opportunities today. Just need to be sharper and play our way, no matter who stands on the other side of the net. But again, things are improving and this tournament was good for us across the board.”

In the opening round, the Stars clipped Owen Valley 3-2, with Gratzer and Kemp nailing down the team triumph with a tough 6-4, 7-5 win over Kage Brown and Drew Kristoff at No.1 doubles. Turner went the distance for a win over Rhett Heckman at No.2 singles, posting a 6-3, 7-6 (7-3 in the tiebreaker) victory. Steven Graham won at No.1 singles, topping Zack Hamilton 6-4, 6-2.

The Stars will host Paoli on Monday.

BNL’s Cameron Gratzer teamed with Jayden Kemp to win twice at No.1 doubles on Saturday.


First round

BNL 3, Owen Valley 2


1 Steven Graham, BNL d. Zack Hamilton 6-4, 6-2

2 Graham Turner, BNL d. Rhett Heckman 6-3, 7-6 (7-3)

3 Kolton Jackson, OV d. Carter Kimmel 6-3, 6-3


1 Cameron Gratzer and Jayden Kemp, BNL d. Kage Brown and Drew Kristoff 6-4, 7-5

2 Kage Brown and Drew Kristoff, OV d. Caleb Jones and Nate Pemberton 6-4, 2-6, 6-4

Championship round

Mooresville 3, BNL 2


1 Peyton Wilson, M d. Steven Graham 6-3, 6-3

2 Lennon Zollman, M d. Graham Turner 6-2, 4-6, 6-2

3 Craig Teike, M d. Carter Kimmel 6-0, 6-1


1 Cameron Gratzer and Jayden Kemp, BNL d. Bailey Kelso and Ian Mosley 4-6, 6-0, 6-1

2 Caleb Jones and Nate Pemberton, BNL d. Trae Creech and Braeden Daggy 6-2, 6-1